Dreams That Awaken

24 Sep

Yesterday, around 5 o’clock in the morning, I woke up from a shockingly disturbing dream. It was so disturbing, in fact, that if I ever faced such a situation in reality, committing suicide would be on top of my priority list.

The dream β€” a nightmare, rather β€” introduced me to two factors I would have never figured in any other way.

  • Dreams are not to be underestimated.
  • Sometimes, reality can be shocking enough to make you kill yourself at once, without any second thoughts.
Am I strong enough?

Am I strong enough?

I usually discard dreams as mere renditions of what goes on inside a human brain, and undoubtedly, it’s mostly true that dreams never directly affect a person’s thought-process. But since yesterday morning, I have been having glimpses, flashbacks of the dream that are constantly causing stress. I look at myself as a person who doesn’t react instantly to any consequence, but after watching the dream, I have realized that a tremendously horrific situation can even cause me to scream in dismay, and jump from the top of a building without working out the outcome of it.

Suicide is another thing that I have always related to weak individuals who are immediately responsive to the situations they face. I have never considered suicide as a solution of my problems, but the dream made me realize that showing indifference to something that puts you down is not always possible. That imaginary line we draw is only imaginary after all.

To conclude, I am extremely thankful for this dream, because in case I ever face a situation similar to what I faced in the dream, I would know what to do (that is, not to commit suicide).

15 Responses to “Dreams That Awaken”

  1. scrambled7 September 24, 2011 at 8:11 PM #

    Death is never the answer.

    I was once in a really bad position myself, and I was really depressed, and I used to cut myself, not that I’m proud of it or anything, but uhm yeah just saying. But people made me realize that NOTHING is worth hurting yourself over.
    I just feel bad for those who haven’t understood that yet..

    • Aadil Aijaz September 25, 2011 at 12:59 AM #

      I agree. If I kill myself, all my worldly problems might end, but I’d put lots of loved ones in an inevitably endless misery.

  2. Syed Zeeshan Ahmed September 24, 2011 at 10:40 PM #

    Quite a thoughtful post, for sure!
    Most of the dreams we tend to forget once we wake up. Some dreams leave a presence for a while. Some of the dreams are simply unforgettable. I believe your dream lies somewhere in between the last two of them. I hope you learned what you wanted to learn from this dream. There is a thin line between reality and dreams…sometimes we cross it too.
    -Peace

    • Aadil Aijaz September 25, 2011 at 1:00 AM #

      “There is a thin line between reality and dreams.”
      I completely agree!

  3. ajay September 25, 2011 at 1:19 AM #

    This is scary and chilling but I can relate to it. I have had nightmares too and some of my memories hang between dream and reality. I am not if they they really happened or I just dreamed them one night. Strange it may seem. Very well written.

    Suicide is not the answer agreed but mind works in mysterious ways. Sometimes it gets so clouded that logic and reason are lost and it seems the only respite to all the miseries. I am not supporting it but just saying.

    • Aadil Aijaz September 25, 2011 at 1:22 AM #

      I totally get what you mean.

      Thanks for dropping by! πŸ™‚

  4. Tazeen September 26, 2011 at 7:50 PM #

    As a sentimental teenager, I often thought about suicide but like you said in one of your comments above, the thought of loved ones that follows is enough to make one stop considering ending his or her own life.

    I don’t think there could be anybody out there who’d like nightmares. They’re just… bad. Okay, I know that wasn’t very profound but I hope you get what I mean.

    • Aadil Aijaz September 27, 2011 at 12:27 PM #

      I concur!

      Oh, and you don’t have to be profound all the time. Haha!

  5. Zeba September 26, 2011 at 9:05 PM #

    Wow. I am glad you had this dream. Or nightmare. Regardless of how scared it got you. Death should never be an option.

    • Aadil Aijaz September 27, 2011 at 12:30 PM #

      Yes, death is never the answer. Thanks for dropping by!

      πŸ™‚

  6. Salman Latif September 27, 2011 at 12:06 AM #

    I was gonna suggest something and then read your last line. Brought a smile to my face because I was gonna suggest precisely the same. That you can use this dream to be ready for the possibility of a situation which drives you to such despair (and I do wish you never face one) and not commit such a rash act.

    • Aadil Aijaz September 27, 2011 at 12:31 PM #

      Great minds think alike! Hahaha! πŸ˜‰

  7. Aaleen shafaat September 27, 2011 at 8:31 AM #

    Death is hard especially sucide. And why should one die when you can live , be happy and rub your happiness in peoples faces . Death has always fascinated me so have dreams, as a student of psychology I would say that dreams are the extension of reality:)

  8. Aaleen shafaat September 27, 2011 at 8:34 AM #

    But they are there to learn from them and fix the problems in your life . Dreams are like indicators and the are very essential . There was a time I was scared of my dreams enough to not sleep at all but they were the ones to help ne out

    • Aadil Aijaz September 27, 2011 at 12:35 PM #

      The fascinating thing about interpreting dreams is that one can never reach a satisfactory conclusion.

      Thanks a lot for expressing your opinion here! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

