Another Traffic-Light Stranger

28 Sep

Who says you can’t fall in love again once your heart has been played with? You fall in love everyday.

I often fascinate about how I come across so many people everyday, whom I will most probably never meet again. These strangers might not mean anything to us, but sometimes they leave their mark on our lives; they make us realize that the world is not as shallow as the image of it we have in our minds.

On my last day of 11th grade, in early 2010, me and a friend were waiting outside Quaid-e-Azam Complex (Hyderabad) for my friend’s driver, who was to pick us from there an hour back.

I remember how we always took a long path back home, how we cracked jokes with soldiers inside the Cantonment, how we talked about the same topics every single day and still did not get tired, how we bought drinks from a grocery store in the Cantonment instead of buying them from our school’s canteen, and how we once left our drinks inside a refrigerator at an army check-post.

Anyway, while both of us waited for the driver, we came across a cop. He started conversing to us in a friendly manner. He then wrote something on his palm and asked us its meaning. We couldn’t figure it out. Now I neither remember the text nor its meaning, but he told us that it was Dutch. An ordinary Pakistani cop who knew Dutch!

Shut up! Do I look like I know Dutch?

Shut up! Do I look like I know Dutch?

Earlier this year, during our last days of 12th grade classes, we had a 25-minute conversation with a teacher (who taught our juniors) after the Physics class, which was the last class of the day.

“What’s the use of your life when your purpose is to only have a bunch of grandchildren before you die?”

Even though my participation in the talk was hardly noticeable, but it left a big mark on my mentality. He also asserted that he was going to be the next big thing after Dr. Abdul Qadeer Khan. (Don’t judge me. I still haven’t decided whether I like AQ Khan or not.) So if you ever see a Hyderabadi scientist on TV, you know who he is. (Though I’m not too sure if he really is going to be the next big thing.)

And then there are people we never get to speak to. We only see them for a few seconds and off we head to our respective destinations. I refer to them as ‘traffic-light strangers’. I can’t speak for the rest of the humanity, but I imagine a thousand different scenarios during these few seconds.

“Dear God! That girl is pretty. *imagines getting married to her* *imagines dating her* *imagines talking to her about literature* *imagines going to her place for a rishta* *imagines her getting out of her car and getting into mine* *imagines having dinner at her house with her parents* Okay stop it, dude. Green light in 5 seconds. 5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1. *pushes the accelerator and releases the clutch* Next traffic-signal in about 500 meters…”

14 Responses to “Another Traffic-Light Stranger”

  1. Syed Zeeshan Ahmed September 28, 2011 at 4:07 PM #

    Ah, what a touching post (not, I din’t feel any telekinetic hand touching me)
    Loved it! Quite true that there are times when a complete stranger steps into ‘our’ universe and leave a mark and changes it forever. So amazing, that feeling. Though, sometimes the same stranger can change your life in a (bad) way too.
    Well written (again, and it’s getting boring now) HAHA! :p
    Keep it up lad!

    -Peace

    • Aadil Aijaz September 28, 2011 at 5:14 PM #

      Is it time for another humorous blog post? Yes, it is! :p

  2. Tazeen September 28, 2011 at 9:12 PM #

    Traffic light strangers. I love the term. I see them everyday. People I will never talk to or meet again. But it gives off a beautiful feeling. And yes, I let my imagination run away like that too. *points towards last paragraph* =P

    • Aadil Aijaz September 29, 2011 at 8:43 AM #

      Thank God I’m not the only one! :p

  3. Aneesa October 1, 2011 at 2:24 PM #

    nice post and i totally get you… i saw someone at traffic lights five years ago.. never ever forgotten him… he turned to me and smiled… and drove off.. it was that smile and the look in his eyes… still etched in my mind like it was yesterday…

    • Aadil Aijaz October 1, 2011 at 5:36 PM #

      Too bad he’s not coming back! Hahaha!

      • Aneesa October 1, 2011 at 5:47 PM #

        5 years on.. i doubt it 😛

  4. scrambled7 October 1, 2011 at 10:13 PM #

    True, every person has some kind of impact on us.

    • Aadil Aijaz October 2, 2011 at 2:45 AM #

      I absolutely love how it works. I wonder how many people have I had an impact on.

      • Aneesa October 2, 2011 at 3:13 PM #

        it’s a shame coz we will never know…

  5. Aasiyah October 2, 2011 at 7:52 AM #

    Dude! 🙂 I’ve had the same experience a year ago. The traffic was so bad I ended up boy-hunting among the faces behind the car windows. Haha.

    • Aadil Aijaz October 2, 2011 at 5:15 PM #

      I do that all the time. Haha!

      (i.e., girl-hunting.) :p

  6. Zain Imran October 8, 2011 at 3:46 AM #

    Nice post! I think all imaginative people indulge in the day-dreaming you speak of, with the traffic light strangers as the protagonists. And every single person you see even for a fleeting second has an impact on your life. The people who you went up 12 floors in an elevator with, the person who stood in front of you in line while entering the concert venue, the person in the car next to you at a red light…everyone; even those who came into our lives for mere seconds, do influence us in some subtle way.

    There is this one girl I remember seeing at a subway station in Washington, D.C. She was so amazingly beautiful, I’ll never forget her. And another girl. So there’s two who I remember for their beauty, and so many other strangers young and old, white, yellow, black and brown that I’ll never forget. Some I spoke too, without ever asking their name or finding out much about them. Good post 😉

    • Aadil Aijaz October 8, 2011 at 5:11 PM #

      It’s funny how you only remember the girls. 😉

Leave a Reply

