A Dish-Doer Speaks Up!

10 Oct

Back in the school days, I used to pray to God for holidays. I hated waking up early. I hated homework. I hated having to answer why I didn’t know acetylene’s chemical composition, but knew ethyne’s. And. I hated queuing in a line outside the canteen.

“Uncle, Ali hai?”

“Uncle, Ali hai?”

Nevertheless, I had a life that I enjoyed. I never got depressed because there was always something going on. Now, I pity the nothingness of it and the fact that I have to do the dishes to pass the long and boring days.

Doing the dishes is an easy task, and if you are creative enough with sponge and lather, it also is fun. When I am doing the dishes, the entire kitchen sink is a pool of lather; nothing but pure lather. Usually when my mom sees me, the reaction that I get is,

“Ihyo kya pya karendain?” (What the heck are you doing?)

“Where did you get that shirt, mom?”

“Where did you get that shirt, mom?”

It’s too bad I can’t tell her how much I hate staying at home, because it’s only me who’s responsible for all this, and I have to spend my days in this exasperatingly dull atmosphere for almost a year. I feel sorry for housewives. Consequences have made me feel like a housewife.

Teehee!

Teehee!

I also have enormously lowered my expectations from people. It makes life much easier to live, despite the fact that staying at home has killed my communication skills. Blah! I’m so complicated.

16 Responses to “A Dish-Doer Speaks Up!”

  1. Aasiyah October 10, 2011 at 6:49 PM #

    You’re funny yaar. 🙂

    • Aadil Aijaz October 10, 2011 at 6:55 PM #

      I’m assuming it’s a compliment. Thank you. 😀

  2. Tazeen October 10, 2011 at 7:09 PM #

    I feel your pain, mahn.

    Don’t mind me being “different” today. I grew a horn out of my nose, like I told a friend earlier.

    A quick question: do you make a soap lather beard while washing the dishes? I used to do that. Now I just get done with the work and do something boring because I stay at home too. #CertifiedLazyBum

    Ooh. Forgot to mention the blue dress looks pretty on you. =P

    • Aadil Aijaz October 10, 2011 at 7:25 PM #

      Nope. I’ve never tried making a lather beard. I think only girls do that because they don’t have any facial hair to experiment with? Haha! 😛

      Thanks! My husband-dearest brought it for me. 😛

      • Tazeen October 10, 2011 at 7:30 PM #

        I disagree with your hypothesis, Aadil. I have met guys who have been incapable of growing beards (and I am going to throw up any moment now). =P

        Aww… Kitnaaa sweet hai, haye Allah. =P

      • Aadil Aijaz October 10, 2011 at 11:32 PM #

        Aww, that’s okay. But don’t throw up on my new rug. Hahaha!

        Haina! 😛

  3. scrambled7 October 10, 2011 at 7:48 PM #

    I stopped expecting things from people a long time ago, pal.

  4. Sanaa Khalid October 10, 2011 at 8:26 PM #

    Awww moi poor boy…I owe you an email…all communication’s not lost yet. Being a couch potato myself and loving it oh so much I can’t really share words of wisdom. However, I’d like to tell you to do other chores as well. Perhaps you’d find your true calling in dusting, washing the car, cooking etc. =P

    • Aadil Aijaz October 10, 2011 at 11:27 PM #

      Yeah, I wonder what happened to that email. Haha!

      I think doing the dishes is enough for now. :p

  5. Syed Zeeshan Ahmed October 10, 2011 at 9:27 PM #

    Yeah! Now we’re talking! I love dish washing! Oh yes siree! Ah, that lather making, slow and steady moves, and then awesome music coming in through your earphones, ah, what a DELIGHT! Plus, you’re burning calories too 😀

    No sir, you’re not complicated, the word complicated itself in complicated, hence making the situation complicated even if you’re trying to keep things uncomplicated but then again the moment you add ‘un’ before complicated, it becomes more complicated. Oh well, I was just trying to be uncomplicated :p

    Well done laddie! Btw, I love the pictures (and the post of course, but that’s obvious, so…) 😀 Keep it up 🙂

    • Aadil Aijaz October 10, 2011 at 11:30 PM #

      Holy cow! I didn’t know I was burning calories. This isn’t good for MY health, you know. 😛

      I think I’m not complicated anymore. You win. Haha!

  6. Baakh October 11, 2011 at 3:06 AM #

    I feel the pain of staying at home and not having school/college to attend first thing in the morning. Not as fun as it sounds. Blegh.

    Maybe you should just wash dishes for living 😛

    • Aadil Aijaz October 11, 2011 at 12:25 PM #

      No, you don’t feel my pain. You sell Karachi’s most-wanted t-shirts and you get to hang out with ‘kewl’ people. 😛

      Actually, I’m considering asking my mom for a monthly salary package. Haha!

  7. Salman Latif October 16, 2011 at 9:22 PM #

    Lol. Come on, a person like you ought to know a number of creative ways to while away the day! 😛

    • Aadil Aijaz October 17, 2011 at 7:53 PM #

      The creativity gets washed away when one is isolated. 😛

Leave a Reply

