Consummate Nothingness

18 Oct

When a person is free to wander, it’s that person’s soul that wanders, collects impurities and makes the person ambivalent. The person then loses the power to tell right from wrong, and lets the impurities make an interference. Freedom introduces us to both aspects of life; Sunshine, when everything is clearly visible, and Moonlight, when we need a guide. We let the soul be our guide, and let it make decisions. The said soul, may or may not be an imaginary being.

God knows why my soul looks like Kim Jong Il.

God knows why my soul looks like Kim Jong Il.

However, when a person is held prisoner, impurities lose their hold. The person is then left alone with a soul that once freely wandered. This is when everything starts making sense. Even though freedom still remains a priority, the prison becomes a source of elucidation. The prison, though lacking vigour, eventually gives birth to an energy exceeding its limits; a wish to do it all over again.

I am a prisoner. I have been enlightened. And now. I long for freedom. Living with my soul in this consummate nothingness is getting over-exhaustive. Now is the time to be a child again. To let out what I have been holding in.

But once a person gets imprisoned, freedom becomes an abstruse concept. The soul refuses to synchronize with the outside world, denying any theory that the outside and inside worlds are meant to be constantly encircling each other.

8 Responses to “Consummate Nothingness”

  1. Syed Zeeshan Ahmed October 18, 2011 at 7:55 PM #

    Another awesome write-up! πŸ˜€ Keep it up! πŸ˜€

  2. Verda October 18, 2011 at 8:02 PM #

    This is one creatively written piece. I agree with everything you’ve tried conveying. The only thing that I am a little disappointed about is that we human beings, we’re thoroughly thankless. The way you presented the scenario of a prisoner, well I do understand that he (his soul) must have suffered a lot, but it should not let this ‘but’ invade into the newly learned life that he’s attained after going through all the tough stuff. Hence, i’m a little disappointed with the end. Although it’s the reality, probably just too hard for me to stomach.
    I’d rather ask my soul to be thankful for the good and bad experiences it went through and make use of those while experiencing other things in the world than to enclose myself in a safety bubble. πŸ™‚
    Nonetheless, a very thought provoking read. πŸ™‚

    • Aadil Aijaz October 18, 2011 at 9:56 PM #

      First of all, it’s not a story so it has no end. :p

      Second, the person (which is me) is not being thankless, but being careful. He hesitates with each step. To regain the momentum, he needs the soul to be free again. There is no ‘but’, there is a ‘when’.

      Cheers!

  3. Tazeen October 19, 2011 at 11:08 AM #

    Okay, I won’t talk much about the post here (I actually mean to say, “I don’t have any intelligent words in my mind.”) but I will tell you how I had to bite my lip hard so I wouldn’t burst out laughing uncontrollably at the picture. πŸ˜›

  4. Sanaa Khalid October 19, 2011 at 12:40 PM #

    Oh my my! MashAllah. Love your expression. Absolutely amazing. To be honest I wish I had written something like that cos seriously it echoes my thoughts wholly and completely…Although my soul doesn’t look like whats-his-face though! =P

    • Aadil Aijaz October 19, 2011 at 1:23 PM #

      Shukriya, shukriya!

      Well, of course your soul doesn’t look like Kim Jong Il; it looks like Meera. :p

Leave a Reply

