Of Shower Concerts and Moonwalking

11 Nov

The narrow spot in the backstage that gives me a view of the crowd induces a heavy sensation of nervousness and excitement into me. The band accompanying me is already on the stage, warming up with the instruments. Meanwhile, I wait inside the dressing room for the big announcement, keeping a last-minute check on my hairstyle and re-buttoning my off-white shirt, folding up its cuffs to three levels. I move closer to the mirror and admire how natural my stubble looks.

But seriously, you can't see me clearly with that kind of lightning on the stage.

But seriously, you can't see me clearly with that kind of lightning on the stage.

 “Aadil! Aadil!” The unexpectedly huge crowd anxiously waits for me. All of a sudden, the water supply from the shower comes to a halt.

Daydreaming has its limits, but it keeps you entertained. You can either convert a dream into reality, but if you are not rich (or determined) enough, daydreaming gives you a slight taste of what you secretly desire. Though I know what it feels like when you exit the backstage’s dull atmosphere and step onto a vibrant stage, and I know how thrilling it is to be dancing in front of a huge audience, but I have never been on a stage all by myself, singing. Therefore, shower is the place where all my dreams get fulfilled.

How can you not be jealous?

How can you not be jealous?

To this day, I have delivered hundreds of inspirational speeches, coached tens of football and cricket teams, had conversations with people who exist only in my imagination, played instruments I have never touched, and done a lot of things I would never do in real life.

The best part, however, is when I moonwalk. I can’t really moonwalk to be very frank, but I try. I invent my own dancing steps. Once, I fell very badly while randomly dancing in shower, but that (unfortunately) didn’t kill the spirit, or the trance.

Cooler than the one-step-forward-and-two-steps-back dance, since 1983.

Cooler than the one-step-forward-and-two-steps-back dance, since 1983.

Oh, and you must stop judging. I’m not shy to perform in front of an audience in real life. I just don’t get enough opportunities. My last time on a stage was on 23rd of March this year, when I dressed up as Jinnah for a group-performance.

5 Responses to “Of Shower Concerts and Moonwalking”

  1. Zeeshan Ahmed November 11, 2011 at 1:06 AM #

    One of the best posts EVER! Imagination is such an awesome thing! Well done mate, rockstar ho puray! And I loved how you led that rebellion in Chagezabaad! By the way, we performed together too once, remember? 😉

    • Aadil Aijaz November 11, 2011 at 1:10 AM #

      How can I forget that? Too bad the crowd was ONLY half a million. 😛

  2. Tazeen November 11, 2011 at 11:27 AM #

    I had to snort at the part where you fell while dancing in the shower.

    But yeah. I guess daydreaming has its perks. For me, it gives me the false impression that it’s adding to my self-confidence but it does not. Try as I might, I’m still pretty lost and blunt when in the real world. I’m working on being a better me, though.

    Funny how in my dreams, Jackie Chan has been my best friend (one from among a huge selection of celebrities). Now if only I could go on dreaming.

    • Aadil Aijaz November 11, 2011 at 4:17 PM #

      I have no best friends in dreams. 😦

  3. Ahmed Hassan December 21, 2011 at 1:24 PM #

    One of the best posts I have ever read. Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

