He’s Only Seventeen

27 Nov
Brrrrr! This is a funny caption.

Brrrrr! This is a funny caption.

Twelve more days to go, and it will finally be legitimate for me to drive. Eighteen years; I have suffered more than I have gained. I have realized that the poems I write, end up making sense later on in the future. It seems as if I inadvertently predict what’s going to happen to me. I ended up converting this one into a song.

November, oh November rain!
How long have I been longing for you;
Reveal to me, new walkways
Reawaken the old pain
Notice, you did not, the plants that I planted for you

November, cold November rain!
You swept the Lost off the streets tonight
November, sweet November rain!
But you set me free in all your might
Next time, when you come by —
Speak to me, oh November rain! 

-A

Though I’m thankful for what I have, and I don’t regret writing a poem that seems so vague, I secretly wish I didn’t have to hide my feelings behind ambiguously patterned words.

6 Responses to “He’s Only Seventeen”

  1. Verda November 27, 2011 at 10:42 AM #

    I wish the same, Aadil. 🙂

    Beautiful song and post!

  2. Zeba November 27, 2011 at 1:33 PM #

    I have always felt that one of the most beautiful things of beIng a writer/blogger was to write thing without saying everything out the way it is. There is a beauty in not saying what you really want to and hint at it. There is mystery. There is subtleness. And I see all of that in this poem of yours from which I have garnered my own little meaning.

  3. Zeeshan Ahmed November 27, 2011 at 2:46 PM #

    I hope the same 😀
    Amazing poem 😀

  4. Tazeen November 29, 2011 at 12:12 PM #

    I feel like copying Zeesh’s comment. 😛

    YOU’RE A BABY. I didn’t know. I’m allowed to pinch your cheeks! *pinches cheeks*

    • Aadil Aijaz November 30, 2011 at 3:03 AM #

      Hahaha! Just don’t pinch them too hard. 😛

Leave a Reply

