Let’s Agree To Disagree

1 Dec

More often than not, I find myself in a position where giving in doesn’t seem like a feasible option. I’m in a constant fight with my subconscious, and if I were to accede to it, not only I would find myself in trouble, but I’d also be losing my credibility. What’s this idea floating in my mind that keeps my opinion shuffling?

Wait, wait, wait. Ideas look like bulbs?

Wait, wait, wait. Ideas look like bulbs?

I start expecting from people before I even get to know them. I feel attached to them and want all their attention. That’s where the subconscious intrudes, and whispers, “Good work! Time to make the next move.” No…. no, no, no, no, no. NO!

“Hello, subconscious! Why don’t you go back to hell?”
“Is your body a disguise for this hell?” 
“I think I’ve had enough of this ‘experience’ now.”
“You can’t bury your feelings for life.”
“I’m giving it a shot, and it’s working.” 
“Being hypocritical, aren’t we?”

I need to stick it outside the house, so that the neighbours know we don't have any free tomatoes.

I need to stick it outside the house, so that the neighbours know we don't have any free tomatoes.

At this point, I stop arguing. Then again, at some point during the midnight, the river flows in multiple directions. Everything goes back to normal until the dawn. The subconscious quietly watches, and pities the situation. Let’s just agree to disagree, it says.

7 Responses to “Let’s Agree To Disagree”

  1. Tazeen December 1, 2011 at 9:39 PM #

    Can I tell you how relevant this is for me right now? And I thought I was the only one.

  2. Zeeshan Ahmed December 1, 2011 at 9:42 PM #

    ~Subconscious keeps on whispering, I keep on listening, I try to argue, my tongue betrays me.
    Well done mate, I get through the same situation at times…

    • Aadil Aijaz December 1, 2011 at 11:37 PM #

      “My tongue betrays me.” Loved this part!

      • Zeeshan Ahmed December 2, 2011 at 1:12 AM #

        Now even my fingers have betrayed me 😛 Cheer up lad 😀

  3. MothSmokeLover December 1, 2011 at 9:53 PM #

    We all go through this at some point. Thanks for putting it into words and that too so perfectly!

    And its ok to be emo sometimes. 🙂

  4. Sabz December 2, 2011 at 1:47 AM #

    I can pretty much relate to this *sigh*
    Nice post 🙂

Leave a Reply

