Desperate Times, Desperate Measures

5 Dec
Midgets not allowed in this town.

Midgets not allowed in this town.

Perfection. It’s hard to find, but it exists somewhere behind the faces we often misjudge. I wonder if someone feels about me the same way.

How do they achieve perfection unwittingly? Perhaps, they don’t run after it. Perhaps, they aren’t even aware of the mysteriously pleasant energy they create around themselves. They neither climb mountains, nor build huge fortresses. Although they have their imperfections, they scarcely ever get affected by them.

Are we all perfect, or is it just that particular person?

"Perfection Corleone, is my real name."

"Perfection Corleone, is my real name."

It’s no rocket science that we change ourselves in accordance with the behaviour and the mannerism of the people we meet. Though it’s only a temporary change, but we still manage to pretend to be someone we’re not. Maybe, someday, I will get so good at pretending that I will forget who the real Aadil is. Maybe.

But then again, perfectionism shouldn’t demand us to forget who we are. Maybe I should dig in deeper.

8 Responses to “Desperate Times, Desperate Measures”

  1. Zeeshan Ahmed December 5, 2011 at 2:51 AM #

    We all know, we’re not perfect. It’s just a matter of how much you can ‘try’ achieving perfectness. Oh well, that’s my opinion. And Pacino is LOVE. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Awesome work ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Tazeen December 5, 2011 at 11:24 AM #

    Aadil sounds sentimental. Aadil needs spanking.

    • Aadil Aijaz December 5, 2011 at 10:47 PM #

      Aadil does? ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

      • Tazeen December 6, 2011 at 8:47 PM #

        Aadil does. Then maybe he could share my bowl of Frosty Flakes later.

  3. Anas Shafqat December 11, 2011 at 10:34 PM #

    For quite some time, I pretended I was somebody else (for perfection or some other obscure reason) which in truth, I was not. Its weird that it took a pilfering writer’s block that made me realize what my actual identity was.

    Good work ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you get over your identity crisis as well.

    • Aadil Aijaz December 12, 2011 at 1:08 AM #

      All of us have tried pretending to be someone else at least once in our lives.

      Thanks! But I’m not really in the middle of an identity crisis. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Anas Shafqat December 12, 2011 at 3:30 PM #

        True ๐Ÿ™‚
        And thats good ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sadaf December 19, 2011 at 2:08 PM #

    Nothing’s worse then having to pretend to be someone other than what you really are !
    And yes ( referring to the above commentator ) writer’s blocks develop when we go out-of-tune with our heart’s signals. Pretense and writing just don’t go along very well .

Leave a Reply

