Where Do We End Up?

19 Dec

“What kind of university is going to accept us with these grades?”
“We don’t have to worry about the grades as long as we do well in the entrance tests, which we surely will.”

Back in school, I used to be everyone’s dose of optimism. Got rejected by a girl? Oh, no worries! That girl from 11th grade seems to be quite interested in you. Can’t solve an Integration problem? Visit me this weekend and we’ll figure it out. Not prepared for the presentation? Copy my notes. Don’t have a girlfriend? Cool story, bro! I don’t have one either. Need help with an assignment? If you’re a girl, I’ll do it for you.

"So Aadil, I was thinking if you could... umm... I don't know how to say this... if you could do my homework?"

"So Aadil, I was thinking if you could... umm... I don't know how to say this... if you could do my homework?"

I was ambitious, but I didn’t have a map. I used to have lengthy discussions with friends, all pondering over where we were supposed to end up after school. Everyone wanted to get to the rooftop; no one knew where exactly the staircase was. Often, we found ourselves bragging, “If I were the president, I would do blah blah blah.” Sometimes in the library, we were found rewriting the constitution of Pakistan, not reaching a consensus on any single point. A few of us were exceptionally talented, in our own words, when it came to Urdu poetry. The bad part, however, was that we didn’t have anything to write about, apart from our failed ‘love stories’.

"Your draft of the constitution says that the president must have paedophilia. Well, why not necrophilia?"

"Your draft of the constitution says that the president must have paedophilia. Well, why not necrophilia?"

Then, one (not very) fine day, we found ourselves standing beneath the sun. The competition. The spectators. The failures. All of a sudden, we knew precisely how to differentiate one from another. When we faced the mirror, it had a big “YOU ARE A SPECTATOR” written over it.

9 Responses to “Where Do We End Up?”

  1. Sadaf December 19, 2011 at 1:58 PM #

    Everyone wanted to get to the rooftop; no one knew where exactly the staircase was

    Interesting !

    And I loved reading this description…heartfelt words and powerful expression !

  2. Ahmed Hassan December 19, 2011 at 5:41 PM #

    Great post, Aadil! The first paragraph just described my whole life.. 😀

  3. Zeeshan Ahmed December 19, 2011 at 11:10 PM #

    Oh teri khaer…I say we often end up meeting a leprechaun under the rainbow…with a pot of gold…of course.
    Well written, but you’re still an optimist…:P

    • Aadil Aijaz December 20, 2011 at 1:03 PM #

      Once an optimist, always an optimist! 😀

  4. Tazeen December 21, 2011 at 7:07 PM #

    Zeesh’s comment made me laugh. ‘Tis okay, my child. I don’t know what happened this year but all of the young ones I know turned into “the spectators”. Perhaps it’s just another unlucky year but not one which shall not pass.

    I welcome the failures because they’ve made me wise. Or am I wise? =/

  5. ZOHA December 25, 2011 at 12:00 PM #

    Nice post—

  6. Anas Shafqat January 28, 2012 at 3:23 AM #

    You are amazing when it comes down to penning realities!
    Good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

