The Finest Wine

7 Feb

I wish I could tell you that things have been happening exactly according to what you said in your forecast. I wish I could tell you that moving on was just a matter of time, that life is as bright as ever, that my energies are no longer wasted in trying to figure out ways to reunite, that the intricacies of life are not really hard for me to keep up with. I wish I could tell you all that you want to listen, and satisfy you, and free you of a burden that you still somewhat carry.

You see, the thing is, once you taste the finest wine, all the others seem to be inferior. You don’t want to compare because the comparison doesn’t exist. You don’t want to forget. You don’t want to let go. You go so far as to say that you want its ownership rights. I have never touched a bottle of wine, and probably never will, but I’m sure it must be like that.

I never needed to be loved, I have learned. I’ve been told that I am being loved but my insides don’t show the least bit of enthusiasm, for it is not infinite love and attention I desire, contrary to what we both once thought. I desire simple things. A sweet smile. A friendly gesture. A kind word.

I never knew it would affect me so much losing a friend. A best friend I unluckily fell in love with. We never learn, do we?

One Response to “The Finest Wine”

  1. Shiza February 7, 2013 at 2:23 AM #

    Couldn’t be explained in a better way.

Leave a Reply

