The Wait

1 Jul

It feels like just yesterday we were celebrating the New Year’s Day, and it’s July already. In fact, it feels just like yesterday when I used to occasionally bunk the Physics class at school three years ago to hang out with friends at a spot where there were less chances of getting caught, or when I used to fly kites with my friends every Basant more than eight years ago, or the day when I finally learned to ride the bicycle with both hands off the handle. The list goes on and on. God, how fast the days and the months and the years go by. The best things in life always drift away from us. The worst things do too, but it’s usually the good things that leave their mark the most, that either directly or indirectly define who we are, and it’s the good things we never wish to let go of.

But it is always when we lose something do we realise its importance. When it has slipped out of our grip way too much. Almost always. And most of the time, there is no way getting it back. I think that if you’re even a 16-year old, you’ve already been struck by this reality several times.

It feels just like yesterday we all were making promises to ourselves, those goddamned ‘New Year Resolutions’. Now I don’t even remember what I promised myself. But I do remember you telling me that in time, I’d be alright. How much longer do I still need?

4 Responses to “The Wait”

  1. emphadiate July 1, 2013 at 6:21 PM #

    So true.
    “But it is always when we lose something do we realise its importance. When it has slipped out of our grip way too much. ”
    Time, like many other things, is precious, and rarely do we see it’s significance till it has passed. WE’re left looking back, often with nostallgia. Very well put.

  2. Admin July 7, 2013 at 12:44 AM #

    Well…nicely written, totally expressing your thoughts and views, I would like it but yea I have to say something about time as well, Time isn’t always so fast that you would always claim that this and that happened just few days before, Though I agree that this also happens sometimes, Life goes on and on and we when think about our past, we really think the same. Well done šŸ™‚

  3. lalarukh1 July 11, 2013 at 1:25 PM #

    I can totally relate to that….I feel the same ! I still remember the day clearly when I first came here in my hostel and now four years have passed and it seems like the first day ….I know we value the things when they are gone…But we should try to cherish all we have now !! Love your posts they are so good šŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

