I Have Done Terrible Things

22 Jul

What is life when you don’t experiment with things at all? But experimenting with people’s emotions, now that’s something deplorable. Despite being reminded several times, both directly and indirectly, that the idea of ‘forever’ in teenage does not last long and ends up in hurting people, I felt I needed to find that out myself.

“Maybe,” I thought, “I am different.”

That teenage frenzy. I can handle complex situations. I can manage to keep my mind open at all times. I can handle a fast-running car. It’s okay, there’s plenty of time to do this. Yeah dad, don’t even worry about me. I’m your favourite son. I’ll live up to it, whatever you expect of me.

“115 km/h, whoa man! Slow down now,” I said to myself as I drove past the flyover on Thandi Sarak.

The car decelerated. The teenager didn’t. The bright young man who should have been doing what was expected of him – to stay in his right mind – perhaps did not realise that the expectation was still valid. It had not expired; it was never going to.

“I’m sorry.”

Fin.

3 Responses to “I Have Done Terrible Things”

  1. Anas Shafqat July 22, 2013 at 9:51 PM #

    This is brilliant. I don’t want to post a generic comment, but I am really at a loss to say what. You are an amazing writer.

    • Ahmed Hassan July 22, 2013 at 10:13 PM #

      Dude, this is perhaps one of your best blog posts ever. A brilliant read.

  2. emphadiate July 23, 2013 at 8:50 PM #

    Youth and the false sense of invincibility. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

