Fate

12 Mar

Sometimes, our mental capacity is not enough to realise the profundity behind God’s decisions. The present looks so bleak, that the future becomes incomprehensible to this human brain. And time, be it the past or the future, has always been a mystery to me and to you. Why do we feel the need to take decisions anyway? Why, all of a sudden, are we compelled to choose a path that is not ours? Why even, out of thin air, do we let ourselves build such paths? Untimely decisions, my friend, are what we regret the most as the consequences continue to grow on us. But untimely feelings… what about those? I say that this charlatan named Fate is playing a game with us. I say that we’re taking this game too seriously.

I made a decision last night. I know you did too. But by the time it was morning, I did not remember what I had decided before falling asleep, neither did it matter. It doesn’t matter. We can enjoy life as long as Fate doesn’t change its course. But you and I… we know that it’s going to change its course, for we can foresee where it is going. Fate isn’t that cunning after all, but it has played its part and will succeed in doing what we fear the most.

But then again, our mental capacity is not enough to realise the profundity behind God’s decisions. We can foresee the fate, but the fate and the future are two different things. We cannot foresee the future. How can we foresee the future when even the past is blurry? I believe in God, and you do too. We might not be close to Him, but He is close to us. So if things do not get better in a couple of years, they will in the next couple of years.

12 Responses to “Fate”

  1. Aaisha March 12, 2012 at 3:46 PM #

    I know all of these feeling and I am glad you put them into words so I can make a little sense out of them. And I am also glad that I came across those last few lines. πŸ™‚

    • Aadil Aijaz March 12, 2012 at 6:00 PM #

      I’m glad that you’re glad. πŸ˜€

  2. Syed Zeeshan Ahmed March 12, 2012 at 7:24 PM #

    I can imagine, what happens when you take a decision, when you know it’s fate, but it leaves you clueless, and at times hopeless.
    Well written, very meaningful.
    Stay blessed my bhai πŸ™‚ x

  3. zainub javed March 12, 2012 at 8:40 PM #

    Quite a profound 1! I ghastly needed this fresh air. Do you ever have a feeling that the trivial things that are coming in your way, just by chance, which you say, ‘don’t matter’, they lead you to a an ultimate divine thing as if the nature wants you to consider them? Some peculiar kind of dΓ©jΓ  vu??

    • Aadil Aijaz March 13, 2012 at 1:16 AM #

      I don’t see the involvement of deja vu, but yes, nature always has to play its part in converting the insignificant things into highly significant ones.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Rai M Azlan March 13, 2012 at 1:36 AM #

    i had a dream three days ago and it is broken now… i can understand the game of fate but i can only understand when the game is over…

  5. Aasiyah March 13, 2012 at 1:45 AM #

    our feelings may betray our words. it might be easier to say than do. the important thing is we realize that the mess ain’t as big as we first made it out to be. i learnt what you said through grief. good epiphany.

    • Aadil Aijaz March 13, 2012 at 12:00 PM #

      Sometimes the mess isn’t in our control. πŸ™‚

  6. writes2escape April 5, 2012 at 2:30 PM #

    Written really well. Like the optimistic note at the end.

Leave a comment